Society Seminar Series

Periodic online meetings on various topics of interest to the System Dynamics Community

Free for Members

Join Now


COMING SOON

ADAPTING GROUP MODELING WORK TO COVID REALITIES

by Jason Jay, 

Fellow practitioners share their favorite techniques, tools and theory for moving your group modeling work online in these interactive meetings.

 


PAST SEMINARS

ONLINE HACKS FOR THE SYSTEMS THINKING PLAYBOOK GAMES: A COMMUNITY CONVERSATION

ONLINE, Thursday, November 12th, 11am New York, 4pm London, Friday, November 13th, 12am Beijing

by Linda Booth Sweeney

Linda Booth Sweeney, co-author of The Systems Thinking Playbook  and The Climate Change Playbook will share ways to adapt short gaming exercises that illustrate the subtleties of systems thinking to a new online world. Participants are encouraged to share their methods for bringing these games and others online.

FISH BANKS - now accepting Wait List registrations only

Thursday, October 29th, 10am New York, 2pm London, 10pm Beijing

by Jason Jay,  Senior Lecturer and Director of the Sustainability Initiative at the MIT Sloan School of Management

Join us online to experience this classic web-based simulation developed by Dennis Meadows. Participants in this participatory game will manage their own fishing companies as they compete with others to achieve a profitable venture.  Together team players will strategize about buying and selling ships, where to fish, how best to manage fleets without depleting fish stocks all while in competition with neighboring teams.

Managing tourism-driven growth and waste generation: the case of the Maldives

ONLINE, Wednesday, October 28th, 12pm New York, 4pm London, 5pm Berlin, 12am Beijing (29th)

by Florian Kapmeier and Paolo Goncalves

Florian and Paulo analyze the tension that Small Island Developing States (SIDS) face between economic growth and environmental impact. Their case example is the beautiful, paradise-likMaldives, which seeks to double the existing hotel capacity within only 6 years. Florian and Paulo assess the tension between tourism-driven economic growth and environmental degradation from a limits-to-growth perspective. The model is calibrated to 38 years of data from the Maldives to estimate parameters and Monte-Carlo methods are used to assess the sensitivity of results to uncertainty. They contrast development paths for the next three decades under three sets of policies focusing on promoting growth, managing tourism demand–supply balance, and improving waste management. Findings are counterintuitive. 

TELLING STORIES TO SPARK CHANGE

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

by David Hutchens

The author of Tip of the Iceberg will share some key insights around organizational storytelling - content brought to the likes of Harvard Business Review, L'Oreal, Accenture and Paypal. 

THE BEER GAME

Thursday, August 6, 2020

by John Sterman (MIT) and Michael Bean (Forio)
This quintessential board game is now available online in a format that allows multi-player use just like in the classroom.  See how it works!
Society Members may view the recorded session!